News:

<+Clu> im 100% nigga

Main Menu

Bleach: Blade of Fate - Review

Started by Dr.Mario84, January 14, 2008, 11:52:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dr.Mario84

Yeah, Bleach.

Bleach for the Nintendo DS is based on an anime/manga series from Japan.  Even so that's no reason to diss this game.  This isn't the type of game which you just say "well if you like that sort of thing..." as if Bleach fanatics would be the only ones to get it.  I myself know little about the show or manga but I decided to try this game out.

I would also like to state that I have only done one other review of a game in my life so you might find my words a little naive for a reviewer.  That is quite alright; I guess you could say I'm new at this.

Gameplay:
The controls are actually quite simple.  There are three buttons you use to attack (Y, X, A), one to block (R) , one to flashstep (B), and one to linejump (L).  The flashstep is basically like a quick burst of speed, although not all characters can flashstep (instead they'll sprint/slide).  And the linejump basically makes you go into or out of the background (only usable in 3 - 4 player battles).  And you of course walk/run/jump/crouch with the D-pad.

There are also these cards in the game called Spirit Cards.  These substitute for items and can actually be very cheap.  Spirit Cards are shown on the touch screen.  With these on battles and duels might become more of an effort of who has the better deck/luck rather then skill.  But you can turn them off thankfully.  You can purchase stronger Spirit Cards as you progress through the game.

One nifty little feature also in the game is the quick reference special move and special attack buttons.  As with most fighters there are button combos that allow for special moves to be preformed.  The touch screen can quickly transform into a set of buttons which, when pressed, make your character automatically do a special move.

Storyline: