News:

<+Clu> was cute sure but it doesnt even mention homosexuality

Main Menu

NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams (first impressions)

Started by Zovistograt, January 01, 2008, 03:30:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zovistograt

So I started playing the game today.  I must say, it made me go "wth" on many of an occasion.  Basically, from what I played (that being the beginning of both stories, the boy and girl), the storyline is either completely predictable or completely unexpected.  For example, once you get into The World of Dreams, Owl greets you and gives you a tutorial and you meet NiGHTS and such.  Then you dualize (basically become a symbiote) with NiGHTS and you fly around through rings to very enjoyable music.  Then there's a plot twist and you have to rescue NiGHTS.  But what gets me is that they made it so obvious either what to do or what not to do (omg dark ocean) that it's like Owl is more than just a guide...it just seems as though you don't have a lot of control over what's going on.

And that's the thing that annoys me, control.  NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams is a game about freedom and dreaming and stuff like that, but YOU'RE ON A FREAKING RAIL >:(  I want to fly, not merely maneuver!  I felt like the true feeling of flight was robbed from me.  I started playing thinking it would be a free-motion awesomefest, but instead I got a fun limit.  Limits in dreams?  Just make the game more challenging then!  Grah.  And when you do get to fly and get kinda full control (i.e. when the camera is behind NiGHTS), it's in a tunnel or something, so you can't fly around anyway!