News:

UH SOMETHING BROKE HANG ON

Main Menu

My review of Excitebike: World Rally

Started by Macawmoses, November 12, 2009, 07:57:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Macawmoses

As always, a sneak peek at my new 8C review - which means full content.

Hey hey hey Circuiters. I got bored of Nintendo Weekly, so I have passed it off to another writer. You can expect more regular updates of it now that it is in the hands of a new writer! But that means I now have a column to do, which is where the Dossier comes in. As a journalist, I receive all sorts of tips, hints, and otherwise. It's part of the job. I also receive women. That's not part of the job. Every week we'll pull out a new file from the dossier, and see what it includes. And no, it won't be a news roundup (that'll stay on Nintendo Weekly). Let's kickstart it with a review - Excitebike: World rally.

The guys and gals at Monster Games have been working hard this year. First, they create one of the finest Arcade Racers I have ever played, Excitebots: Trick Racing. Then, they dapple in WiiWare with what is labeled as a remake of the original Excitebikes. I argue that it is an entirely new game.

Much like the original, Excitebike blurs the line between racing and everything else. In both titles, you aren't exactly looking to "win the race," you are simply trying to get the fastest time possible on two lengths of the track. This, of course, means hitting your fellow racers can be disastrous to your time. In addition to racers occupying the race track, you also have terrain changes, which can hinder your progress, or create shortcuts.

Also similar is the controls, which go so far emulating the NES version that on the time screen, said controller appears next to your time. These are simple, almost to the point of being maddeningly. Your controls are acceleration, switching lanes, turboing (which can be disastrous if used incorrectly), and performing wheelies.