News:

Our thoughts go to Silver and his family in this difficult time.

Main Menu

Spider-Man: Friend of Foe (PS2)

Started by Riosan, October 14, 2007, 07:31:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Riosan

Recently, I rented a little game called Spider-Man: Friend or Foe. I had heard about this game around E3 time, but I hadn't read or seen any trailers about it, so I didn't know anything about this game other than it had Spidey in it. As I was thinking of popping the game in my PS2, I remembered some of the great recent Spider-Man games that have come out. Specifically, Spider-Man 2 and Ultimate Spider-Man. The former is one of my favorite GCN games, as well as my favorite movie game ever. The latter wasn't based directly on the movies, but rather the Ultimate Spider-Man comics.

But this review isn't on them. So I started playing the game, and I was actually pleasantly surprised. And this is where the review begins.

STORY: 7/10.

Even though the game states on the box, and even on one of the title screens that it's "Official Movie Merchandise", this combined with the story makes me scratch my head. When the story begins, Spidey is relaxing in NYC when he's interrupted by none other than the Green Goblin. Ok, that's fine. Nothing contradictory about that. And then, Doc Ock shows up. Now you see where I'm going with this. And then, just to push my point further, Venom, The Sandman, and even Harry as the New Goblin show up. I'm not making this up.

Anyway, when they were fighting, they get ambushed by these mysterious creatures in white. And then, the villains, and Harry, get disintegrated, or teleported somewhere or some crap like that. Anyway, Spider-Man then gets lifted up into this flying thing. As he enters the Helicarrier, as it's called, he is talked to by the director of S.H.I.E.L.D, an anti-terrorist group.