News:

Change is coming. HOPE CHANGE UNITY

Main Menu

Alienating the Hardcore Gamer? I think so.

Started by Trace, September 22, 2007, 11:31:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trace

Let's start the Zelda board with some intelligent discussion...
This was one of the last threads I posted on the Zelda board, and was almost a definite victory for Post of the Week before Andy took NSider down.

Enjoy.

I've been playing Zelda for 18 years now, going on 19. Throughout those 18 years, I've defeated Gannon with the Magical Sword, I've awoken from the dream of Koholint (or was it a dream?), I've stopped the moon from crashing down on Termina, I've linked my adventures between Labrynna and Holodrum, I've traveled to an underwater Hyrule, and I've shrunk myself down and helped the Picori.

For a good portion of those years, I was faced with a challenge every time I inserted a Zelda game into whatever system I was playing, be it an NES, an N64, a GameCube, or a Game Boy. I would have to go out and find dungeons, but with little direction. I would have to fight enemies who when they attacked me, took away a good heart or two. I'd have to solve puzzles that offered little to no hints as to how to complete them.

I mean, who would've known that to get to Dungeon 7 in The Legend of Zelda that you'd have to play the Recorder at the fountain next to the fairy fountain near Dungeon 3? Or how was I supposed to know which way to go to get to each boss and keys in The Adventure of Link?

Earlier Zelda games offered a challenge. They provided few clues on what to do, and few directions. It was a guessing game to a large degree.